So I was going to post a weekly update. I will but it will be at the end of this post because I just decided to do a Highlight Children’s Author blog post for this month! 🙂 Are you ready? GOOD CAUSE HERE IT GOES……

 

thanksgivingCHILDREN’S HIGHLIGHT BOOK FOR THE MONTH OF NOVEMBER:

The Monster at the End of This Book

starring Loveable Furry Old Grover

by Jon Stone, Michael J. Smollin (Illustrator)

monster at the end of this book
This story is so cute! It’s about GROVER of course and he discovers that there is a MONSTER at the end of the book. The story continues with Grover trying to convince the reader to stop turning the pages so they will never get to the end of the book, because there is a MONSTER at the end of the book. Grover tries everything to stop the reader from getting to the end of the book- TYING the pages together, NAILING the page to the next one, even BUILDING a brick wall. Will that stop the end of the book from coming? Of course NOT; but its fun a FUN READ while Grover tries to convince the reader that they really don’t want to get to the end! So who’s the SCARY MONSTER at the end? Well its non other than  Furry Old Grover himself! 🙂

~So I LOVE reading this story to my students at work! I get so animated with them, and they enjoy the way I change my voice when I read it to them. The kids often ask me to read it and sometimes I even hear the kids reading it themselves! :)~~

other books written by Jon Stone

monster 2Another Monster at the End of This Book
by Jon Stone, Michael J. Smollin (Illustrator), Michael Smollin

groverHide and Seek: with Lovable, Furry Old Grover
by Jon Stone, Michael J. Smollin (Illustrator)

resting placesResting Places: with Lovable, Furry Old Grover
by Jon Stone, Michael J. Smollin (Illustrator)

blueBlue’s Fruit Field Trip! (Blue’s Clues)
by Jon Stone, Michael J. Smollin

~I’ve read Another Monster at the end of this Book its a another fun read and the children also enjoy reading this book as well. I haven’t read any of his other books but they look like books I need to check out in the library or buy off amazon.~

Autumn-Leaf-Border-copy

24824

Jon Stone

Born
in New Haven, Connecticut
April 13, 1931

Died
March 30, 1997

Genre
Children’s Books

Influences
Jim Henson

thanksgivingWeekly update:

I’m about 30% done with A Little too Late by Staci Hart. Its a great read and I am loving Charlie and Hannah’s story line. Charlie is a single dad to adorable little Maven and handsome little Sammy. What he needs is a nanny, enter Hannah. Hannah has had trouble with her last job, so she’s a little skittish but she instantly hit it off with Charlie’s children. I’m not sure exactly what will happen next but with Staci Hart one never knows!!

Autumn-Leaf-Border-copy

I also finished reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It was very different watching the movie first THEN reading the book. Usually its the other way around. I have watched this movie with my daughters so many times that when I saw it on amazon for free, I decided to get it and try to read Jane Austen’s work. I have always loved Pride and Prejudice and the book honestly didn’t disappoint. It added a bit more detail than the movie did. It was a great read and I have the option of reading more of her work as the book has all of Jane Austen’s work.

thanksgivingAbout my Book:

Well I have written NONE, ZERO, NADA. I had a crazy busy week and then I had a stroke of inspiration while at WORK, yes people While. At. Work!! I work with children! There isn’t a minute to write down inspiration!! So by the time I DID get a moment, guess what??!! Inspiration LOST!! Yup forgot it ALL….. I haven’t got it back so here’s to hoping next week will be better! I’ll hopefully have a better time writing later on this week. 🙂

Autumn-Leaf-Border-copy

so what are you reading this week? what is your favorite children’s author? and if your an Author have you ever had a moment of inspiration and then completely LOST it!! Let me know in the comments below..  Have an awesome week!!

~Llissa~

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.